Season Champions Crowned at Plymouth Motor Speedway

Five class champions were crowned at Plymouth Motor Speedway after an action-packed Saturday evening of racing.

Super Street driver Kody Conner hung out front for the entire 20-lap Feature with Kyle Barger (LaPorte, Indiana) in tow.  Ron Wilkes (Lowell, Indiana) kept the third place spot and battled Jason Fritz for the position a few times throughout the race, but Fritz couldn’t quite make the pass.  It was Conner with the win, Barger with second and Wilkes in third.

Conner stated, “I finally got the win after coming in second, and another second and another second.  I think we dominated the night!  We got it tonight.  I’m so excited!  Congratulations to Ron on winning the championship!”

Ron Wilkes is the 2021 Plymouth Motor Speedway Super Streets Champion.

The 600 Non-Wing Sprint drivers had trouble with cautions Saturday night.  Chad Hartzell (Granger, Indiana) was in the lead except for the last lap of the Feature when Cody Williams (Rensselaer, Indiana) passed him shortly before the last caution.  Braxton Hanft (Warsaw, Indiana) moved up to third after getting by both Kayla and Ed Cleveland on the second-to-the-last lap.  After 25 minutes and over six lengthy cautions, the race was called by the race director after seven laps.  Williams was the winner with Hartzell in second and Hanft in third.

“A black cloud has followed us and we were able to outrun it. Thank you to everyone and all of my sponsors,” said Williams. 

Ed Cleveland is the 2021 Plymouth Motor Speedway 600 Non-Wing Sprints Champion.

The 25-lap UMP Modifieds feature drivers saw a bit more racing action.  The 28M of Frank Marshall suffered a flat tire early in the Feature but was able to get it fixed during a caution and rejoin the field at the tail.  He would finish in fourth.  Bradley Jameson (Royal Center, Indiana) started on the pole and led the entire Feature.  Devin Wright was battling Zeke McKenzie (Claypool, Indiana) for the second position on the track on lap four, but Wright’s No. 37 suffered a tire failure and left the track.  McKenzie moved up to the second place position and Garrett Jameson (Royal Center, Indiana) held the third position after starting the feature in the last spot in the lineup and driving it up to the top three. He claimed third around lap 7.  When the Feature was over Bradley Jameson finished ahead of McKenzie by seven seconds, and Garrett Jameson finished closely in third.

“This is my third night in this car and I can’t believe we parked it!” said Bradley Jameson on his win. 

Frank Marshall is the 2021 Plymouth Motor Speedway UMP Modifieds Champion.

The Thunder Stock Feature was also riddled with cautions, but that did not deter Jacob Kolwyck (Griffith, Indiana) from keeping his No. 21 out front for the race.  Spencer Knight II and Wade Clemmons (Hobart, Indiana) battled for second position after many restarts following cautions, but Clemmons kept digging to keep the runner-up spot.  Brandon Shelhart (Hanna, Indiana) worked his way through traffic during the restarts.  He began the race in the ninth spot and barreled through his competitors until he was looking at the bumper of Clemmons’ car on lap 14.  It was Kolwyck with the dominating win, Clemmons in second and Shelhart in third. 

“I was so nervous with the points battle,” said Kolwyck, who finished third in points.  “These guys we race against are a class act.  It’s on of the best fields we have.  I’m thrilled about this.  I’m kind of speechless, actually.  Thank you to the fans because without you we wouldn’t have this.”

Lee Hall is the 2021 Plymouth Motor Speedway Thunder Stocks Champion.

The Front Wheel Drives Feature saw Brian Isley at the top of the running order, but not before Josh Lank, Jr. (Delphi, Indiana) quickly passed him for the lead.  Josh Lank soon got by Isley for second who fell in the running order.  Aaron Tatman (Lafayette, Indiana), who was involved in an early race caution with several other cars and sent to the tail, battled his way up through the field.  By the time the scoreboard showed 15 laps down, Tatman had found himself in the third place position.  Lank, Jr. was comfortably out front for nearly the entire Feature and came home with the first place trophy.  Lank was in second and Tatman rounded out the top three.

“If I wasn’t going to win the track championship, I at least wanted to win a Feature,” said Lank, Jr.  It’s my first Feature win and if it wasn’t for my Dad I wouldn’t be here.” 

Josh Lank is the 2021 Plymouth Motor Speedway Thunder Stocks Champion.

The regular season may be over, but there are still a few events left this year at Plymouth Motor Speedway.  Tony Stewart’s All Star Circuit of Champions and the Thunder Stocks will race August 21, the Kenny Wallace Dirt Racing Experience is August 22, the Crash Fest/Night of Destruction is August 28, and the Monster Truck Throwdown is September 11.  More information on those events can be found at or by following Plymouth Speedway on Facebook. 


Photo credit I&S Photos

1 thought on “Season Champions Crowned at Plymouth Motor Speedway”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *